Help Anonymous… but how?

Like al-Qaida, Anonymous is not an organisation but a loose network of people having more or less a common idea.
Unlike al-Qaida, Anonymous don’t focus on mislead pseudoreligious dogmata but they have a vision of a better world for everyone.
I’ll let the praise do someone who is completely convinced and aware of their work.

I became aware of Anonymous being significantly more than just a bunch of hackers fooling around with their mighty toys when OpCartel was launched against the mexican “Zeta” druglords.
Search “anonymous zeta” on your favourite search engine for details.

Since I read about this, I have been thinking about how to support these people. I’m asking you! Do you have an idea? If yes, please comment!

What help could they actually need?

  • Anonymous always needs good hackers, I suppose. Look for their forums, join the discussions, make yourself known, take part in the next operation. That’s not my way, though.
  • Anonymous can use your calculational power and bandwidth for DDOS-attacks.

But what if the enemy is not a lazy government or a company, but the Zetas? Every member of Anonymous is a vulnerable human being. Could it happen that one of them has to flee or to change identity because the Zetas are on his tail?
Or simply has to earn money?

Money could help. How to donate to Anonymous?
I want an “Anonymous Emergency Fund”, where contributors to Anonymous can immediately take let’s say 200$ and make their way to safety.
I want an “Anonymous Legal Fees Fund” to pay lawyers that defend contributors in trials.
Aquiring the money should be an easy task. There are enough sympathisers. But how to bring it to the actual people? Can anonymous people share their bank account details with the world? Wouldn’t Paypal immediately lock down any account called something like “anonymous.fund”?

We need another system, an anonymous one, a reliable one, an independent one.
Can I change the world just using a keyboard? I hope so.
It would be great to develop open source software in the spirit of Julian Assange, software that helps the activist in the field.
Share your ideas about this with me.

Leave a comment